Economic Futures Council

economic futures council calgary albertaThe JA Southern Alberta (JASA) Economic Futures Council (EFC) is a group of individuals who firmly believe that JA enhances the lives of young people, strengthens our economy and produces solid ethical citizens.
The EFC was launched in 2012 in an effort to raise much needed annual funding to support core programming and growth initiatives for JA Southern Alberta. In the beginning, each EFC Founder was asked to make a $100,000 financial contribution (outright or pledged over 2 to 4 years) to sustainably improve the state of 3 futures: our youth, our economy and the JA Southern Alberta charitable organization itself.
To ensure the Economic Futures Council is able to raise essential annual funding, and in the spirit of expanding philanthropy to younger generations and new leaders, we developed Additional Council Gift Levels from $5,000 to $75,000 (outright investment or pledged over 2, 3 or 4 years). Funds go to support program growth to meet demand, technology enhancements and sustainability of rural programming.


EFC Members

The reason I became one of the EFC Founders is that I want as many kids to get the JA programs as possible!
— Wayne Henuset, President and Owner Willow Park Resources Ltd.

Since its inception, EFC members have pledged over $2.8 Million to support programming and technology for JASA. Because of this support, we have:

PATRONS* – $100,000

* The EFC Patron level is available exclusively to those who have served as an EFC Founder. Only after recognizing their Founders contribution to the EFC are members eligible to join this elite group of benefactors.

Clive Beddoe

Richard F. Haskayne

Ronald N. Mannix

Clayton Riddell (In Memoriam)

JR Shaw (In Memoriam)

Mac Van Wielingen

FOUNDERS – $100,000

John (In Memoriam) and Cheryl Aldred

David A. Bissett

Richard Bonnycastle

Robert G. Brawn

Wayne Chiu

Jim Davidson

Jack and Joan Donald

N. Murray Edwards

Dr. T. Chen Fong & Alice Chan

John and Lana Geddes

Wayne Henuset

Sam Kolias

Hal Kvisle

Alvin Libin

Ronald P. Mathison

Jeff McCaig

Susan Nelson & Gordon Case

David O’Brien

Todd Poland

Brian Sidorsky

The Stollery Family

Guy Turcotte

David Werklund (as Chairman of the
Werklund Foundation)

C. H. Woitas Family

MENTORS – $25,000

Sean McBurneyGerard McInnisKarl Smith

SUSTAINERS – $10,000

Jody Balko
Dawn de Lima
Rick Gallant
Tracy Johnson
Ken Tate
Helen Wesley


Raj Bhogal
David Butler
Melissa From
Cheryl Hamelin
Sarah Hawitt
Scott Hillier
Anila Lee Yuen



2015 EFC Luncheon – Lessons From Leaders – with Jim Davidson, Chairman, FirstEnergy Capital Corp